In the world of metrics, likes are easy to come by and not worth much in the long run.
Likes and, to some extent, impressions, cost per thousand, page views, and even followers, are vanity metrics that look good on paper but don’t mean much to your business.
Unfortunately, many marketers and managers love vanity metrics.
However, most metrics are vanity metrics without a precise goal because you have no idea how you’re stacking up unless you have a goal in mind.
But as a social media professional, social media reporting metrics are still your chance to demonstrate the value of your work.
So, which social media metrics matter?
Continue reading this article and find out top 15 social media metrics that matter in 2022.
These social media metrics focus on your current and potential audience. Consider looking at these awareness metrics on your next report:
1. Brand mentions
This metric refers to the overall number of mentions of your brand online per a specific period.
2. Follower growth
However, what’s more important is who your followers are. If you sell roses and most of your followers don’t like flowers, having more followers isn’t helpful.
Depending on the network, you can learn about age, income, interests, social habits (such as time of day they are active), profession, and more.
Ask yourself: Does this audience match up with what I’m trying to accomplish? If not, it might be time to take a new look at your social media posts analytics.
This is one of the most common social media metrics out there.
Also, reach is an actionable metric since it’s directly influenced by timing (when is your audience most active?) and content (what does your audience find valuable in your post?).
It refers to the total number of unique users who have seen your post since it went live.
Track this metric with a social media analytics tool, like Socialinsider.
Impressions refer to the number of times your content has been displayed, whether it was clicked or not.
This social media reporting metric tells you that your content has been shown in someone’s feed.
A viewer doesn’t have to engage with the post for it to count as an impression. Also, one person could have multiple impressions for a single piece of content.
5. SSoV or Social Share of Voice
SSoV measures how many people mentioned your brand compared to your competitors.
There are two categories of SSoVs:
- Direct – by tagging your posts through posts (e.g. @Socialinsider).
- Indirect – simply mentioning your brand without a tag (e.g., “Socialinsider”).
This is a big umbrella category to track. Think about engagement metrics in terms of how many people are interacting with your content. Engaged consumers interact with a post through likes (or other reactions), comments, and shares.
A high engagement rate means people like what you’re posting.
Using an analytics tool like Socialinsider, you can keep track of your engagement reports for your business and understand how your brand performs on social media platforms.
6. Engagement rate
Total engagement represents the sum of interactions, shares, and comments for the posts published in a specific time period.
Engagement rate is calculated as total engagement divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.
The engagement rate formula for Facebook
When it comes to Facebook, social media managers usually report engagement by followers since the engagement by reach is only available for the owned accounts.
The engagement rate by followers on Facebook is calculated as reactions+comments+shares divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.
The engagement rate formula for Instagram
On Instagram, you’ll encounter the same situation with the engagement rate by followers as on Facebook.
The engagement rate by followers on Instagram is calculated as likes+comments divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.
The engagement rate formula for Twitter
The engagement rate by followers on Twitter is calculated as likes+retweets divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.
The engagement rate formula for LinkedIn
The engagement rate by followers on LinkedIn is calculated as likes+comments+shares divided by the total number of followers, all multiplied by 100.
7. Engagement rate per post by followers
It divides the average engagement by the number of followers the page has, all multiplied by 100.
8. Engagement rate per post by reach
It is calculated as the percentage of likes and comments divided by the total number of posts for a specific time, divided by reach, all multiplied by 100.
Continue reading 👉 Engagement Rate for All Social Media Platforms.
You define what a conversion is. At the middle of the funnel, it might be a request for information; at the end of the funnel, it’s probably a sale.
These social media reporting metrics define how efficient your social engagement is. So you might want to ask yourself – How much of my social activity generated a conversion?
9. Conversion rate
It represents the total number of users who take a desired action after clicking on a link in your post.
The conversion actions can be defined as the ultimate action you’d like users to take on your site: downloads, registrations, subscriptions, installations, etc.
10. CTR or Click-Through Rate
CTR takes the number of clicks a post gets and divides it by the number of impressions.
A low CTR means you have a high number of impressions and a low number of clicks – and that your content isn’t resonating with the audience.
11. CPC or Cost per Conversion
When all is said and done, how much did it cost to get that conversion? Take all the costs of the social media campaign and divide it by the number of conversions you got.
If you spend $1,000 and get two conversions, your CPC is $500. If your profit is $300, you have some work to do.
12. CPM or Cost per Thousand Impressions
CPM is the amount you pay every time a thousand people scroll past your sponsored social media post.
13. Bounce rate
This social media metric measures the percentage of users who clicked on a link in your social media post, but quickly left the page without taking any action.
Customer care metrics
We talked about the performance of social media posts and overall social activity, but what about your customer’s experience with your brand?
This is where customer care KPIs come in.
These social media metrics cover the most crucial stage of the customer journey. They measure how your active users feel and think about your brand.
14. Customer reviews/testimonials
These include any positive or negative reviews, comments, assessments, or endorsements your brand received over a specific period.
This is a really important social media metric to track. If your customers are happy with your product, chances are they will share their positive experiences with others.
15. Customer response rate
Social media is one of nowadays’ customers’ preferred channels of communication with a brand.
While sometimes the number of comments and messages received may get overwhelming, it’s important to answer every last one of them – or at least to as many as you can.
TIP: If you’re one of those brands that get an incredible amount of messages and comments and you haven’t done it by now – you should consider getting a community manager.
Let us explain a bit here – a community manager is in charge of supervising and replying to the community’s questions and messages.
Back to the customer response rate – this particular social media metric quantifies how many of the messages received on your social accounts you have replied to.
Here’s how to calculate it: divide the number of replies you’ve given by the number of people who engaged with your page and multiply it by 100.
16. Customer response time
If the customer response rate calculates how many customers have received a response from your brand, the customer response time shows how faster those messages and comments receive a reply.
Obviously, the faster you offer a reply, the better.
On social, people usually expect to receive a reply from a brand within a couple of minutes.
What surpasses this time window starts to be considered a poor response time and threatens to affect a brand’s image and its relationship with its customers.
17. Customer satisfaction
As the name itself suggests, this metric tells you how satisfied customers are with a certain product or service.
Some of the social metrics presented so far are applicable exclusively for social media marketing and are more first-base social media reporting metrics.
However, if you want a more in-depth understanding of your social media efforts are paying off, you should also keep an eye on other additional, but equally important social media metrics.
ROI is THE number one metric any brand focuses on in any kind of marketing initiative. That’s because it’s the best indicator of what generates success and business growth.
Drifting from this metric, there are a couple of less analyzed social KPIs that can offer helpful insights for an improved social media strategy.
18. Top referring social channels
Getting traffic is one of the most important marketing objectives for many businesses. Mainly because when landing on the websites, customers are one step closer to buying the company’s products or services.
The top referring channels social media metric indicates what those social platforms that are most successful in driving traffic to your website are. All this data will be available to check anytime you want in your Google Analytics account once you set one.
By knowing this info, you’ll be able better to optimize your social media strategy in the future and focus on those social channels that are more likely to help you increase your sales and grow your business.
19. Revenue from social channels
This is one of those social marketing metrics that will make managers and business owners listen very carefully when presenting your social media ROI report.
Of course, other metrics for social media marketing like followers, traffic, conversions, and so on also matter a great deal.
However, in the end, to prove the value of your social media work, the revenue from social channels is the ultimate social media metric that should be monitored and presented.
The key to doing excellent social media reporting is to analyze the most important social marketing metrics for every marketing funnel stage.
By constantly monitoring this social media metric, you’ll be able to shift your resources investment towards creating content for those particular networks that give you the best ROI.
So, there you have it: social media metrics that matter.
As you’ve probably noticed from a quick scroll through this article, there are dozens of social media brand metrics that are available to you to track. I’ve compiled this list that includes the essential ones that matter to most brands.
All businesses are different, so some of these social media brand metrics may be more important to you than others.
Just be sure to have a clear goal and choose the right social media metrics to make sure you get there!